Our Move to Organic Winegrowing

“A great wine starts with great grapes”. We truly believe in this winegrower’s saying and so we began the process of converting our vineyard to organic in 2015.

Building on the sustainable winegrowing methods which we already used, we have gradually returned to tilling the soil and caring for the vines with natural elements (of mineral, plant and animal origin), with the utmost respect for the terroir. Find out more about the French agency for organic agriculture (Agence Bio)

Famille Lieubeau - Vigne Rang

Observing and Listening to Nature

With our team, and in harmony with nature, we care for the vines all year long, as the different seasons require. The desire to achieve the very best quality of fruit dictates our work, which includes short pruning, tilling, cover planting, trellising, leaf removal and sorting at harvest.

Our organic certification (AB) and sustainable farming certification (Terra Vitis) illustrate our commitment to biodiversity. Our daily actions are guided by observation. The weather station and vineyard mapping solution, which we have developed ourselves, give us a finer understanding of the terroirs and vintages, and allow us to adapt our winegrowing methods to each plot.

Famille Lieubeau - Vigne Sceau

Understanding the Vineyard and Cultivating its Finest Plots

Our region is unique in many ways, from its geological diversity and numerous microclimates, to its unique grape variety Melon de Bourgogne and ancestral lees-ageing know-how. With this heritage in mind, we promote precision winegrowing and winemaking, with a focus on both nature and methods of cultivation.

We have always sought to identify, understand and grow wines from the most emblematic Muscadet plots. We protect and preserve the heritage of our old vines by using mass selection to propagate them, especially for our Muscadet Crus. Our wines are our interpretation of the diversity of Muscadet’s terroirs and the uniqueness of our region.

Famille Lieubeau - Mineral

Wines Built for Ageing and Gastronomy

In the winery, we separate the different press fractions; this technique inspired by Champagne making is very important for our white wines, especially the Muscadet, and is unseen anywhere else in the region. The use of natural yeasts helps express the character of each plot of the terroir, especially for the Muscadet Crus.

Lees ageing, which is an ancestral technique in the Nantais region, produces exquisite white wines with ageing potential and that are brilliant with food. During maturation, the technique of bâtonnage (or lees stirring) is sometimes used to bring additional freshness, body and aromatic complexity to the wine.

Le choix de l’agriculture biologique

« Un grand vin commence par un beau raisin ». Fidèles à cet adage vigneron, nous avons engagé en 2015, la conversion de notre vignoble vers l’agriculture biologique.

Dans la continuité des pratiques raisonnées menées jusqu’alors, les sols sont progressivement remis en labour et la vigne soignée avec des éléments naturels (minéraux, végétaux, animaux) dans un respect profond du terroir. En savoir plus sur l’Agence Bio.

Famille Lieubeau - Vigne Rang

Observer et écouter

Avec notre équipe, en harmonie avec la nature, nous cultivons la vigne tout au long de l’année au rythme des saisons. Le respect absolu du fruit guide notre travail : taille courte, travail des sols, enherbement, palissage, effeuillage, tri à la vendange…

Nos certifications Agriculture Biologique et Terra Vitis témoignent de notre engagement en faveur de la biodiversité. L’observation guide notre action au quotidien. La station météo et l’outil de cartographie du vignoble, développés par nos soins, affinent notre connaissance des terroirs et des millésimes, et nous aident à ajuster les travaux viticoles à chaque parcelle.

Famille Lieubeau - Vigne Sceau

Comprendre et cultiver

Notre région est singulière à plus d’un titre : sa diversité géologique, ses nombreux microclimats, son cépage Melon de Bourgogne unique au monde, sa maitrise ancestrale de l’élevage sur lie. Conscients de cet héritage, nous défendons une viticulture et une œnologie de précision, à la rencontre de la nature et de la culture.

Depuis toujours, nous nous sommes attachés à identifier, à comprendre et à cultiver certaines des parcelles les plus emblématiques de l’appellation. Nous protégeons et préservons un patrimoine de vieilles vignes en sélection massale, notamment pour nos Crus du Muscadet. À notre façon, nous interprétons la diversité des terroirs du Muscadet et la singularité de notre région.

Famille Lieubeau - Mineral

Des vins taillés pour la garde et la gastronomie

À la cave, le fractionnement des presses est inspiré de la Champagne, précieux sur les blancs, notamment les Muscadet et sans équivalent dans la région. Les levures indigènes laissent s’exprimer le terroir de chaque parcelle, notamment pour les Crus du Muscadet.

L’élevage sur lie est un savoir-faire ancestral à Nantes, qui signe les grands vins blancs, taillés pour la garde et la gastronomie. L’élevage est parfois couplé à la technique du batonnage pour apporter aux Muscadet plus de fraîcheur, d’onctuosité et de la complexité aromatique.